Candidates declare for 2022 ballots

Seats in Congress, county offices up for election
May 20, 2022 at 5:36 p.m.
Updated May 23, 2022 at 2:58 p.m.
The Whatcom County elections office is in the courthouse building at 311 Grand Ave. in Bellingham. Candidates for local, state and federal offices filed last week to appear on this year's ballot.
The Whatcom County elections office is in the courthouse building at 311 Grand Ave. in Bellingham. Candidates for local, state and federal offices filed last week to appear on this year's ballot. (Kyle Tubbs/Cascadia Daily News)

By CDN Staff

The ballots are set for the 2022 election season, when voters in Whatcom and Skagit counties will fill seats from district courthouses to Congress.

U.S. Rep. Rick Larsen and Sen. Patty Murray are the two incumbents on local ballots who seek to retain their positions in D.C. Larsen’s most viable challenger, at least in terms of campaign funding, is another Democrat: former Marysville school teacher Jason Call. He has raised $120,590 in contributions, according to the latest figures from the Federal Election Commission. That compares favorably to any Republican challenger for Larsen's seat; Leif Johnson has raised $17,091 so far. Ten-term incumbent Larsen has a campaign coffer holding more than $827,000. 

While no Republican bothered to file for a state seat in the Democrat-stronghold 40th Legislative District, a fierce political battle is brewing in north Whatcom County's 42nd District, after the death of Sen. Doug Ericksen. Sen. Simon Sefzik, the Republican who was appointed to replace Ericksen for this year’s session, might have an incumbent’s advantage. But the 22-year-old is up against high-profile Republican Ben Elenbaas and Democrat Sharon Shewmake, who has four years under her belt as a 42nd District representative. 

The following is a list of all candidates who filed to appear on Whatcom and Skagit ballots. In partisan races, party affiliation is listed after the candidate’s name. Incumbents are in bold.

Second Congressional District

Rick Larsen (D)

Jason Call (D)

Cody Hart (MAGA Republican)

Leif Johnson (R)

Bill Wheeler (R)

Carrie R. Kennedy (R)

Dan Matthews (R)

Doug “Yoshe” Revelle (no party pref.)

Jon Welch (Conservative)

Brandon Lee Stalnaker (R)

Legislative District 10 (southwest Skagit)

Rep. 1, Greg Gilday (R)

Rep. 1 Clyde Shavers (D)

Rep. 2 Dave Paul (D)

Rep. 2 Karen Lesetmoe (R)

Rep. 2 Ryan Campbell (R)

Legislative District 39 (Sedro-Woolley, east Skagit)

Rep. 1 Sam Low (R)

Rep. 1 Robert J. Sutherland (R)

Rep. 1 Claus Joens (D)

Rep. 1 Karl de Jong (D)

Rep. 2 Jessica Wadhams (D)

Rep. 2 Tyller Boomgaarden (R)

Rep. 2 Carolyn Eslick (R)

Rep. 2 Kathryn Lewandowsky (I)

Legislative District 40 (south Bellingham, Mount Vernon, Anacortes, San Juan County)

Rep. 1 Debra Lekanoff (D)

Rep. 2 Trevor Smith (D)

Rep. 2 Alex Ramel (D)

Legislative District 42 (north and east Whatcom)

Rep. 1 Alicia Rule (D)

Rep. 1 Tawsha (Dykstra) Thompson (R)

Rep. 1 Kamal Bhachu (R)

Rep. 2 Joe Timmons (D)

Rep. 2 Dan Johnson (R)

Rep. 2 Richard May (D)

Rep. 2 Kyle Christensen (R)

Sen. Sharon Shewmake (D)

Sen. Simon Sefzik (R)

Sen. Ben Elenbaas (R)

Whatcom prosecutor

Eric Richey (D)

Whatcom district judge

Pos. 1 Angela Anderson

Pos. 2 Jonathan Rands

Pos. 2 David Nelson

Pos. 2 Gordon M. Jenkins

Whatcom PUD commissioner

Mike Murphy

Eric Davidson

Jaime Arnett

Skagit assessor

Danny Hagen (I)

Karie Storle (R)

Skagit auditor

Sandy Perkins (D)

Eric Hull (R)

Skagit clerk

Melissa Beaton (D)

Skagit coroner

Hayley Thompson (D)

Skagit prosecutor

Rich Weyrich (no party pref.)

Skagit sheriff

Don McDermott (D)

Kevin Ewing (no party pref.)

Skagit treasurer

Jackie Brunson (D)

Skagit County commissioner

Lisa Janicki (D)

Christian Burns (R)

Skagit district judge

Pos. 1 Warren M. Gilbert 

Pos. 2 Dianne Edmonds Goddard

Pos. 3 Jenifer Howson

Skagit PUD commissioner

Germaine Kornegay

Corrin Hamburg

This story was updated to indicate that Whatcom PUD incumbent Mike Murphy withdrew his candidacy on May 23.

Have a news tip? Email newstips@cascadiadaily.com or Call/Text 360-922-3092



Register for email newsletters

* indicates required

Latest Stories

Fifth graders are off to the races
Bellingham students compete at annual elementary school track meet

Whatcom County eyes sales tax for new jail
Council has 2 months to approve ballot measure

Silver Beach construction moratorium extension on the table
City staff requests additional 6 months

Don't look now, the Earth may be swallowing us whole
Bonus clickbait: Fond S2S memories!

Fl!p Breskin: Community organizer
CDN's weekly community profile